still at it

15 Jan

My cold had a wonderful weekend at my expense, which cut down drastically on my Selenium learning productivity. Feeling much better now so we’re back in the saddle (or the basement, really) and finishing up the section on manipulation with some reviews and a bit of experimentation.

I have become especially fond of a technique in IntelliJ (and I’m sure Eclipse) which lets you refactor and extract a method from a selected chunk of code. For the bits of code that get repeated often this can make your test code much more readable.

You can right-click > Refactor > Extract > Method, or just type ‘CTRL-ALT-M’. Be sure and have the desired code selected before hand of course.

3 Responses to “still at it”

  1. Scott January 16, 2013 at 12:55 pm #

    Looks like yer whizzin’ along here, good stuff. I too was wiped out for a couple weeks with a nasty cold, so I’m behind a bit. Looking forward to catching up!

  2. wordpresskwood January 16, 2013 at 2:39 pm #

    Yeah, I find I have to at least stick a toe in the pool every day or I start to forget things really quick!

    • Scott January 16, 2013 at 2:46 pm #

      Amen to that! Way to keep up the blog posting as well. Takes discipline.

Comments are welcome!